Kansas property and casualty practice exam
Free property and casualty practice for the Kansas producer exam: 367 general questions plus 19 Kansas state law questions, each with an explanation.
Licensing facts checked on
Loading practice test... If it does not open, reload this page.
Studying for Life and Health? Kansas life and health practice exam
Getting your Kansas property and casualty license
Kansas has no pre-licensing education requirement, and exam scores are valid for two years. If you fail, wait at least 7 days before retaking the Pearson VUE exam.
- Exam provider
- Pearson VUE
- Exam length
- Combined property and casualty: 150 minutes. Single line: 90 minutes.
- Passing score
- 70 percent
- Pre-licensing education
- Not required
- Retakes
- Wait at least 7 calendar days after a failed attempt. No limit on attempts.
How to plan your retake
Retake rules by state - Score valid for
- Two years
- Continuing education
- 18 hours every 2 years for one or two major lines, including 3 hours of ethics
Official links
- Kansas Insurance Department - official state insurance department
- Kansas Insurance Department, Producer Examinations - exam provider information
Licensing facts checked on , against official sources. Fees and rules change, so confirm with the Kansas Insurance Department and your exam's candidate handbook before you register.
Kansas state law questions
Every Kansas question with its answer, explanation, and the law it comes from.
Licensing and CE
5 questions
1. How many continuing education hours must a Kansas producer with Property or Casualty authority complete in each biennium?
- 18 hours, including 3 hours of ethics
- 24 hours, including 3 hours of ethics
- 20 hours, including 2 hours of ethics
- 12 hours, with ethics at the producer's option
Show answer
The Kansas Insurance Department lists 18 total hours for producers with major lines such as Property and Casualty, and 3 of the hours must be ethics.
2. Of the 18 continuing education hours a Kansas Property and Casualty producer must complete each biennium, how many must be ethics?
- 1 hour
- 2 hours
- 3 hours
- 6 hours
Show answer
Kansas requires 18 hours per biennium with 3 in ethics, and the other hours are at the producer's discretion.
3. A Kansas resident P&C producer who may sell flood insurance must complete a one-time National Flood Insurance Program course of at least:
- 3 hours, counted toward the biennial requirement
- 3 hours, in addition to the biennial requirement
- 6 hours, counted toward the biennial requirement
- 8 hours, in addition to the biennial requirement
Show answer
The one-time NFIP course is at least 3 hours, and those hours count toward the biennial 18-hour requirement; they are not required in addition to it.
4. In Kansas, who submits a producer's continuing education completion information to the Insurance Department?
- The producer, with a paper certificate
- The producer's employing agency, quarterly
- The testing vendor, at license renewal
- The course provider, electronically
Show answer
Providers, not producers, submit completion data electronically, and the Department does not accept certificates submitted by producers.
5. A Kansas producer with the required continuing education credit may renew a license up to how many days before the biennial renewal date?
- 90 days
- 30 days
- 60 days
- 120 days
Show answer
The Department allows renewal up to 90 days before the biennial renewal date when the appropriate CE credit has been completed.
Auto Insurance
1 question
1. Under K.S.A. 40-3107, what are the minimum liability limits for a Kansas motor vehicle policy?
- $25,000 per person, $50,000 per accident, $10,000 property damage
- $30,000 per person, $60,000 per accident, $25,000 property damage
- $25,000 per person, $50,000 per accident, $25,000 property damage
- $20,000 per person, $40,000 per accident, $15,000 property damage
Show answer
Subsection (e) sets liability of not less than $25,000 for one person, $50,000 for two or more persons, and $25,000 for property damage in any one accident.
No-Fault Auto
4 questions
1. Kansas personal injury protection coverage must provide medical benefits with a limit of not less than:
- $2,500
- $4,500
- $10,000
- $25,000
Show answer
K.S.A. 40-3103 defines medical benefits as a limit of not less than $4,500.
2. Kansas PIP disability benefits cover lost monthly earnings up to a maximum of not less than what amount, for up to one year?
- $500 per month
- $1,500 per month
- $2,500 per month
- $900 per month
Show answer
The disability benefit is 100 percent of lost monthly earnings (85 percent if the income is not taxable), with a maximum of not less than $900 per month for up to one year.
3. What is the Kansas PIP funeral benefit limit for an individual?
- $2,000
- $1,000
- $5,000
- $10,000
Show answer
K.S.A. 40-3103 sets the funeral benefit at up to $2,000 for an individual.
4. Kansas PIP substitution benefits, which pay for services an injured person can no longer perform, are payable at up to what rate and for how long?
- $10 per day for not longer than 90 days
- $50 per day for not longer than 180 days
- $25 per day for not longer than 365 days
- $100 per day for not longer than 30 days
Show answer
Substitution benefits are limited to $25 per day and to not longer than 365 days.
Cancellation and Nonrenewal
4 questions
1. Under K.A.R. 40-3-15, a fire and casualty policy that allows the insurer to cancel must call for written notice of cancellation at least how many days before it takes effect?
- 10 days
- 30 days
- 15 days
- 60 days
Show answer
The regulation requires a provision, or an amending rider, giving written notice at least 30 days before the cancellation is effective.
2. Which cancellation is outside the 30-day notice rule in K.A.R. 40-3-15?
- A policy cancelled for a material change in the risk
- A homeowners policy cancelled by the insurer mid-term
- A commercial property policy cancelled by the insurer
- A policy cancelled for nonpayment of premium
Show answer
K.A.R. 40-3-15 does not apply to crop-hail policies, certain health and accident policies, or policies cancelled for nonpayment of premium.
3. If a Kansas auto cancellation notice does not state the reason, the insurer must give the reason within how many days after receiving the insured's written request?
- 10 days
- 5 days
- 20 days
- 30 days
Show answer
K.A.R. 40-3-31(b) requires the notice to say the insured may ask in writing for the reason, and the insurer must give it within 10 days of the request.
4. When a Kansas insurer cancels or nonrenews an auto liability policy for a reason other than nonpayment, what must the notice tell the insured?
- The insured is barred from buying coverage for 12 months
- Coverage may be available through the Kansas automobile insurance plan
- The premium will be refunded at the full annual rate
- The insured must carry a surety bond to drive
Show answer
K.S.A. 40-278 requires notice of possible eligibility for coverage through the Kansas automobile insurance plan.
Residual Markets
2 questions
1. What is the policy term of every policy issued under the Kansas FAIR plan act?
- Six months
- Two years
- Three years
- One year
Show answer
K.S.A. 40-2142 provides that every policy under the FAIR plan is issued for one year, using forms and rates approved by the commissioner.
2. Under the Kansas FAIR plan act, within how many days of filing must the commissioner approve or disapprove a rate plan, before any extension?
- 15 days
- 30 days
- 60 days
- 90 days
Show answer
The commissioner has 60 days from filing, and may extend that by 30 days with notice to the facility.
Guaranty Association
2 questions
1. The Kansas Insurance Guaranty Association pays covered claims up to what amount per claim, other than workers compensation?
- $100,000
- $300,000
- $250,000
- $500,000
Show answer
K.S.A. 40-2906 limits the association to the first $300,000 of a claim, while workers compensation claims are paid in full.
2. What is the most a Kansas guaranty association assessment may be on a member insurer in a year?
- 5 percent of surplus as of the preceding year
- 1 percent of net direct premiums written that year
- 10 percent of net direct written premiums for the preceding year
- 2 percent of net direct written premiums for the preceding calendar year
Show answer
Each member's annual assessment cannot exceed 2 percent of its net direct written premiums for the preceding calendar year.
Workers Compensation
1 question
1. Under K.S.A. 44-505, a Kansas employer is exempt from the Workers Compensation Act if its gross annual payroll for the preceding year was not more than:
- $20,000 for all employees
- $5,000 for all employees
- $50,000 for all employees
- $100,000 for all employees
Show answer
The small-payroll exemption applies when the preceding year's payroll was $20,000 or less and the employer reasonably estimates the current year will not exceed $20,000.
Key Kansas terms
22 plain-English cards on Kansas insurance law, from the Kansas flashcard deck.
Licensing and CE
- Kansas P&C CE requirement
- 18 hours each biennium, including 3 hours of ethics.
- Kansas NFIP course
- A resident P&C producer who may sell flood insurance needs a one-time NFIP course of at least 3 hours, counted toward the biennial total.
- Kansas CE reporting
- The course provider submits CE completion to the Insurance Department electronically.
- Kansas early renewal window
- A producer with the required CE may renew up to 90 days before the biennial renewal date.
- Kansas ethics CE hours
- 3 of the 18 biennial CE hours must be ethics.
- Kansas P&C prelicensing
- Not required for the Kansas producer license.
- Kansas P&C exam length
- Combined property and casualty takes 150 minutes; a single line takes 90 minutes. Passing is 70 percent.
- Kansas retakes and score validity
- Wait at least 7 calendar days after a failed attempt, with no attempt limit. A passing score is valid two years.
Auto Insurance
- Kansas minimum liability limits
- 25/50/25 under K.S.A. 40-3107: $25,000 per person, $50,000 per accident, $25,000 property damage.
No-Fault Auto
- Kansas PIP medical benefit
- Personal injury protection must provide medical benefits of not less than $4,500.
- Kansas PIP disability benefit
- Lost monthly earnings up to not less than $900 per month, for up to one year.
- Kansas PIP funeral benefit
- $2,000 for an individual.
- Kansas PIP substitution benefits
- Pay for services an injured person can no longer perform, at up to $25 per day for not longer than 365 days.
Cancellation and Nonrenewal
- Kansas fire and casualty cancellation notice
- A policy that allows cancellation must call for written notice at least 30 days before it takes effect (K.A.R. 40-3-15).
- Kansas nonpayment cancellation exception
- A policy cancelled for nonpayment of premium is outside the 30-day notice rule.
- Kansas auto cancellation reason request
- If the notice does not state the reason, the insurer must give it within 10 days of the insured's written request.
- Kansas auto plan notice
- A cancellation or nonrenewal notice for a reason other than nonpayment must say coverage may be available through the Kansas automobile insurance plan.
Residual Markets
- Kansas FAIR plan policy term
- Every policy issued under the FAIR plan act has a one-year term.
- Kansas FAIR plan rate review
- The commissioner must approve or disapprove a rate plan within 60 days of filing, before any extension.
Guaranty Association
- Kansas guaranty association limit
- Pays covered claims up to $300,000 per claim, other than workers compensation.
- Kansas guaranty assessment cap
- A member insurer's annual assessment may be at most 2 percent of net direct written premiums for the preceding calendar year.
Workers Compensation
- Kansas workers comp payroll exemption
- An employer is exempt if its gross annual payroll for the preceding year was not more than $20,000 for all employees.
Keep studying
The general topics make up most of the exam.
Kansas exam questions
Do I need a pre-licensing course for property and casualty in Kansas?
No. Kansas does not have a pre-licensing education requirement.Source: Kansas Insurance Department, Producer Examinations
How long is a Kansas exam score good for?
Two years.Source: Pearson VUE, Kansas Insurance Licensing Candidate Handbook (Jul 2026)
How long is the Kansas property and casualty exam?
150 minutes for the combined exam, or 90 minutes for a single line. You need 70 percent to pass.Source: Pearson VUE, Kansas Insurance Licensing Candidate Handbook (Jul 2026)
How much of the Kansas property and casualty exam is state law?
State law is usually around 20 to 30 percent of a state's producer exam. Check the Kansas candidate handbook from your testing provider for the exact content outline.
What does the Kansas state law section cover?
Common areas include licensing and continuing education, auto liability minimums, cancellation and nonrenewal notice rules, and the guaranty fund. This page covers: Licensing and CE, Auto Insurance, No-Fault Auto, Cancellation and Nonrenewal, Residual Markets, Guaranty Association, Workers Compensation.
Where do these state questions come from?
Each state question is written from the state's statutes, regulations, or insurance department guidance, and the source is linked under the answer so you can read it yourself.
Do I still need the general questions?
Yes. Most of the exam is general property and casualty knowledge. The full exam option here mixes 367 general questions with the Kansas state law questions.